All Is Lost

Posted on November 9, 2013

0


All Is Lost – Like Stephen Covey’s suggestion, this starts with the end in mind.  Or at least a voice over saying “I’m sorry.  I tried my best.”  Eight days earlier, Robert Redford is on a sailboat somewhere in the Indian Ocean.  Boat has been punctured due to run-in with a container barge.  He spends the next week trying to fix it and stay alive.

I think I liked Cast Away better with Tom Hanks which had more emotion and more personal triumphs –such as when he started a fire by rubbing two sticks together.  Plus Hanks had Wilson.  Redford just has one calamity after another.  A storm where he’s dumped into the ocean and fights like anything to get back in boat, then a second storm and more fighting to keep on going; one ship passes by without seeing him, then a second ship passes by without seeing him.  The poor guy can’t catch a break and he rarely says a word.  I’d have been using all of my favorite adult words and talking like crazy to myself and to the Universe at large.  I wanted to applaud when he finally screamed “F….”.

In Cast Away there’s a happy ending.  Here, all is lost.  I don’t think I’m giving anything away since you know the title.  Have to say Redford looks good, and there’s beautiful ocean scenery all around, up and down, or at least all around his right side.  It’s the kind of movie that critics will probably eat up,  but I missed Wilson.

 

