Les Miserables

Posted on December 26, 2012

1


Les Miserables –  I think I just saw the Best Picture of  2012.  Since high school, I’ve loved the book, Les Miserables, and the story of Jean Valjean, petty thief who stole bread to feed his sister’s children.  It’s a big story that covers compassion, justice, redemption, political morals, and mostly love.  It shows the utter senselessness of war.   Cannot imagine anyone better than Hugh Jackman to play this role.  He’s not alone, though.  Anne Hathaway as Fantine, forced to sell her hair and teeth, and then her body to provide for her young daughter Cosette, is definitely in the running for Best Supporting Actress.  Russell Crowe as Inspector Javert was not nearly as bad at singing as I expected him to be.  Eddie Redmayne (My Week With Marilyn) is Marius, who falls in love with Cosette at first sight, and does a superb job – his solo is outstanding. The young Cosette, played by Isabelle Allen, a little boy named Gavroche (Daniel Huttlestone), and Samantha Barks as Eponine who dresses as a boy to be with Marius during a student revolution, are among my favorites.

 There are so many good things to say about so many people.  Helena Bonham Carter and Sacha Baron Cohen (and it pains me to say something good about him) provide great comic relief.  This is a perfect Christmas movie and I think it will be a lasting one.

PS – Almost all in the audience applauded at the end.

