Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Posted on January 19, 2012

0


Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy – I’ve never considered myself the brightest bulb in the chandelier but I did not have a clue about this movie.  It’s based on John Le Carre’s book, which is supposed to be excellent and which I’ve not read.  George Smiley (Gary Oldman) is a retired British intelligence agent who is asked to help find a mole, spy talk for traitor, in his old group.  I was able to figure out fairly early who it was, sort of like I used to be able to deduct answers to math questions even though I couldn’t tell you why x+y = z.

 Set in the ‘70s, everything is dimly lit with murky colors, and jumps around from past to present.  There are lots of dead bodies without a lot of connection that I could see.  Colin Firth and Ralph Fiennes look quite good.  I’d love to hear other opinions.

