J. Edgar

Posted on November 12, 2011

0


J. Edgar – You know if Clint Eastwood is anywhere around a movie, I’ll be there. Whether in front of or behind a camera, the man is good. Here, Leo DiCaprio portrays J. Edgar Hoover, director of the FBI for over 40 years, I think. When I was much younger, they were one and the same. He was a tyrant, he was paranoid, he was the Mark Zuckerberg of the day – wanting to gather information on everyone. According to the movie, he had a domineering mother (don’t they always get the blame?), and he had conflicting sexual issues – like he was gay but didn’t want to admit it since mama said she’d rather have a dead son than a Daffodil.
This is a pretty interesting lesson in history. It’s done in black and white, it unfolds slowly as Eastwood likes to do, there’s good music, naturally. The aging of Leo is probably the best I’ve ever seen. I would never have recognized Naomi Watts and Josh Lucas is cool as Charles Lindenbergh. I liked the movie. It will not be for everyone just because of the topic, but you’ll see it at the Academy in one form or another.

Posted in: Uncategorized